When visiting Kasteel Kerckebosch it is fun to discover all the hidden secrets of the castle.

The construction of the castle

The castle was built in 1911 by esquire Egbert Lintelo de Geer on the Kerckebosch estate.

An extensive collection of antique utensils and ornaments were used when building the castle. These come from restored churches, monasteries, and castles in the immediate vicinity. Castle lord Lintelo de Geer managed to purchase a lot of special old materials with befriended antique dealers. For example, in the lobby two very old doors with wrought iron knockers from the Dom cathedral in Utrecht have been used.

Stained glass

Particularly special are the enormous stained-glass windows that were installed in the castle. But otherwise, there are old weathervanes, roof ridge decorations and wrought iron lanterns to discover. The fireplace in our salon deprives from an 18th-century Amsterdam canal house.

The main entrance consists of a renaissance-style gate with the text "Anno 1620" written on top of it. Above it is a statue of David with the severed head of Goliath. The coat of arms of the De Geer family can also be seen here, the background consists of panes with the saying Non Sans Cause below (Not without a cause).

Very prominently on the largest stained-glass window is the saying of Seneca:

"It does not matter how long but how well one has lived".

Foundation De Zilverkamer

Foundation De Zilverkamer has published a very extensive article about the history of our castle:

Read more